Higher School Certificate

Congratulations to our 2017 Year 12 Cohort who achieved outstanding results ranking 115th in the top Sydney Morning Herald top 150 schools in NSW.


Attaining a Higher School Certificate

To gain a Higher School Certificate, students must have completed a minimum of 12 units of Preliminary courses and 10 units of HSC courses. Students must satisfactorily complete the Preliminary course (usually studied during Year 11) before they are eligible to commence the corresponding HSC course (usually studied during Year 12). English is the only compulsory subject for the HSC.

There are two main types of courses - Board Developed and Board Endorsed.

Board Developed Courses

These are the large number of courses that are set and externally examined by the NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) and include courses in the areas of English, Mathematics, Science, Technology, Creative Arts, Personal Development, Health and Physical Education, Human Society and its Environment, Languages and Vocational Education and Training (VET) Curriculum Frameworks. One Curriculum Framework course may contribute to the calculation of an Australian Tertiary Admission Rank (ATAR).

Board Endorsed Courses

These include courses that may have been developed by schools, TAFE or universities. They contribute to the HSC but do not contribute to the calculation of the ATAR.

To Qualify for the Higher School Certificate

Students must satisfactorily complete a Preliminary pattern of study comprising at least 12 units and an HSC pattern of study comprising at least 10 units. Both patterns must include:

  • at least six units from Board Developed Courses;
  • at least two units of a Board Developed Course in English (English Studies Content Endorsed Course satisfies the pattern of study English requirement);
  • at least three courses of two units value or greater (either Board Developed or Board Endorsed Courses)
  • at least four subjects.
  • a maximum of six units from courses in Science in each study pattern.